Personal Canon

Note: These are the books that have had a lasting impact on me. The ones numbered 1, 2, and 3 are my three favorite books in descending order. After the third book, the rest of the books are in no particular order. This list is pretty specific. I consider everything I read that’s any good (4 or 5 stars) as important for my personal and/or intellectual development, and therefore a part of my personal canon. These are the best of the best.

Fiction
1) Le Petit Prince (The Little Prince) by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
2) Moby-Dick by Herman Melville
3) Gulliver’s Travels by Jonathan Swift
To Kill a Mockingbird and Go Set a Watchman (both) by Harper Lee
The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco
Le Grand Meaulnes (The Lost Estate) by Alain Fournier
Mrs. Dalloway and Orlando by Virginia Woolf
Murder in the Cathedral by T.S. Eliot
Gilead by Marilynne Robinson
Journal d’un Curé de Campagne (The Diary of a Country Priest) by Georges Bernanos
Fathers and Sons by Ivan Turgenev
Don Quixote by Cervantes
Saint Joan by George Bernard Shaw
My Antonià by Willa Cather
Hard Times by Charles Dickens
Le Bourgeois Gentilhomme by Molière
Le Petit Nicolas a Des Ennuis (Little Nicolas Gets in Trouble) by René Goscinny (the first French stories I ever read)
La Tristesse du Cerf-Volant by Françoise Mallet-Joris (the first French novel I ever read by myself. I read it on my own time. There’s no better way to learn a language. It’s also a great piece of literary fiction)

Spiritual (You knew that would be a category)
Ecclesiastes and the Gospel of John in the Bible
Confessions by Saint Augustine
Revelation of Divine Love by Julian of Norwich
The Life of Antony by Athanasius of Alexandria
Works of Love by Kierkegaard

Studies (Also mostly related to religion)
The Art of Biblical Narrative by Robert Alter
Augustine of Hippo by Peter Brown (excellent biography)
Sacred Violence by Jill N. Claster (best study on the crusades)

6 thoughts on “Personal Canon

    • Le Grand Meaulnes was recommended to me by one of my high school French teachers. It was her favorite book. I loved how atmospheric the story was, especially the castle scene.

  1. Love your list (great to see Moby-Dick as #2 under Fiction)! 🙂 There’s titles here that are on my TBR list, in French, too (though I’m long ways off from that).

Leave a Reply

