Friday Reads

First, I would like to wish a happy Holy Week and Passover to anyone who is celebrating.

Now, on to the books.

I finished Seneca’s Letters to a Stoic last week. A review is forthcoming.

Because of my 2017 bookish resolution to read more contemporary works and more books on contemporary events, I purchased The Morning They Came for Us: Dispatches From Syria by the war journalist Janine Di Giovanni.

Image result for the morning they came for us

I’ve only read the first chapter, but I hope to read it in a couple of sittings because I prefer to read disturbing books quickly.

I’m also 30% into Black Moses by Alain Mabanckou, which is on the 2017 Man Booker International longlist. It is about a young Congolese orphan during the Marxist-Leninist Revolution in the 1970s.

Image result for black moses alain

The shortlist will be coming out soon, so we’ll see if the book makes it to the next stage.

3 thoughts on “Friday Reads

Leave a Reply

