2015 Reading and Blogging Goals

I have a few reading goals and two blogging goals for 2015.

 

Reading Goals

As I mentioned recently, I plan to read all of Kierkegaard’s pseudonymous works this year.

In addition, I plan to read all of the major works of Fyodor Dostoyevsky:

The Brothers Karamazov

The Idiot

Crime and Punishment

Notes From Underground

Poor Folk

The Possessed (a.k.a. Demons)

 

In March-May, I will be hosting a read-along of Don Quixote by Miguel de Cervantes (more on that in the future). I have no idea how bloggers make read-along buttons, but hopefully I will figure that out by March. Anyway, I think this year will be dedicated to reading more philosophical and satirical works.

Other authors whose works I’d like to explore are Walker Percy, Graham Greene, and Marilynne Robinson (finally, a living author!)

Of course, I will also continue to read through the list of Newbery Medal Winners and my Classics Book List (which is perpetually in flux).

 

Blogging Goals

In addition to posting reviews, I hope to revive my Saturday Literary Flashbacks and make more reflection posts. My reflection posts will analyze major themes in the novels, short stories, plays, and poems that I read throughout the year.

 

6 thoughts on “2015 Reading and Blogging Goals

  1. Happy New Year! It sounds like you have some very nice goals for 2015. I don’t have anything set in particular, as I feel like I want to follow whim this year, but I do have some vague ideas as to what I’d like to get to. Definitely some time with my much-neglected Classics Club list!

    I’m not sure how other bloggers make their event buttons. I use Adobe Photoshop, which is a bit pricey (and photo-centric), but which I already had (I used it in school and now for work). I think there are some free programs that will do what you want nicely, but I’m not sure of names. Maybe try searching for “free image editing software.” I’ve used GIMP in the past, but I can’t remember how easy it was to learn.

    • I plan on reading both books. I think 3 months is a good amount of time. I will not really have a posting schedule. A few reflection posts here and there will suffice I think. If the schedule is too ambitious I will throw in the towel and give up.

Leave a Reply

