Top Ten Books of 2014

At the 6 month point, I posted a list of my top 10 favorite books of 2014. Now that the year is drawing to a close, I think it’s a good idea to jump on the Top Ten Tuesday bandwagon and post an updated list. So here it is:

1) Moby-Dick by Herman Melville

This work blew my mind. In addition to the general review linked above, I also wrote three reflection posts on the book (here, here, and here). I now consider Moby-Dick as my second favorite book of all time. Le Petit Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry is still #1. Some people are hesitant to name books they think everyone should read. I am, however, unashamed to admit that I think every person (at least every American) should read Moby-Dick at least once in his/her lifetime. Read it at your own leisure. I suspect that those who were forced to read it for school didn’t enjoy it. Binge reading Moby-Dick is not a good idea.

2) The HobbitThe Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien

These are almost unanimously considered some of the greatest fantasy works of all time. However, I struggled for years to appreciate The Lord of the Rings. People often ask in the blogging world whether rereading a work you didn’t enjoy the first time is a good idea. My answer is yes! If you have only seen the movies, do yourself a favor and read the books. No film can ever do justice to the beautiful prose and dialogue in this trilogy. I am now a fantasy snob. If it is not beautifully written, I just can’t get into it. I expect every fantasy book to read like The Lord of the Rings :D.

A spoiler-free review of The Fellowship of the Ring is here.

3) Death Comes for the Archbishop by Willa Cather

283ff-deathcomesforthearchbishop

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is a beautifully-constructed work. Willa Cather creates some very memorable but human characters. All people (including religious leaders) are more than their flaws. Fathers Vaillant and Latour learn much about love, generosity, and courage through their work in the mission lands of the American Southwest.

4) Saint Joan by George Bernard Shaw

Saint Joan - New Mermaids

Is Joan of Arc a saint, traitor, or heretic? Written four years after her canonization, Saint Joan revisits the events that led up to the execution of the maiden of Orleans. The words of Luke 11:47-51 come to mind: “Woe to you! For you build the tombs of the prophets, and it was your fathers who killed them.  So you are witnesses and approve the deeds of you fathers; because it was they who killed them, and you build their tombs.” I have since read a good portion of the well-chronicled trial of Joan of Arc. It is so hard to read because Joan couldn’t say anything to defend herself. Her accusers decided beforehand that she was a heretic and she couldn’t do anything to defend herself. She is rehabilitated after her death, but isn’t that too late? In Saint Joan, Shaw has a lot to say to those who simply dismiss Bishop Cauchon and the Inquisitor as exceptionally bad individuals. How would we treat Joan today?

5) Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf

Mrs._Dalloway_cover

This work is notoriously hard to read but very rewarding. Mrs. Dalloway is purely a character study. The work asks (among other questions):”What binds people together?” and “To what degree can one know and understand another person?”

6) Fathers and Sons by Ivan Turgenev

97801414413371

This is not just a character study, but also a study of the generation gap in pre-Bolshevik Russia. Fathers and Sons is the first Russian work I’ve ever read and I’m dying to read other books by Russian authors. No matter what you may feel about Bazarov the nihilist, you’ve got to admit that he is a compelling character.

7) The Call of the Wild by Jack London

This is not just a book about sled dogs but about the humans who employ them. The line that divides the tame from the wild is not always clear.

8) Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery

Image

This was the biggest surprise of the year. I did not expect to enjoy Anne of Green Gables. I expected Anne Shirley to be Pollyanna-esque, but she is one of the most relatable female characters in all of literature. From page one, I was hooked.

9) Hard Times by Charles Dickens

Dickens does two things really well in this work: 1) He avoids going on random tangents, and 2) His male and female characters are more than mere caricatures. I love Dickens, but I know the common objections to his works. If his other novels have disappointed you, try Hard Times. You will be pleasantly surprised.

10) Le Grand Meaulnes (The Lost Estate) by Alain-Fournier

grand-meaulnes_42523x4

This work has a fairy-tale like vibe to it. Augustin Meaulnes’ coming-of-age story is in sharp contrast to the pastoral (verging on the romantic) setting of the novel.

 

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Books of 2014

    • Lauren Child is the illustrator. She also did the art for Charlie and Lola, a British cartoon for young children. I saw it on American television years ago, but I don’t know if it’s still on.

  1. I’m so glad that Fathers and Sons made your list! I so enjoyed this book and I have plans to read more Turgenev …….. he writes a different sort of Russian novel.

    I haven’t tackled Moby Dick yet, but one day. It’s on my Classics List.

  2. Nice list! I feel like I’m the only person who hasn’t read The Hobbit and/or LOTR. I plan to change that now.

    I have to admit, I’m one of those people who tried Dickens (A Christmas Carol, Little Dorrit, AND Great Expectations) and couldn’t understand what people saw in him. He was a talented writer, of course, but I never really got into his works. But now I think I might try Hard Times!

  3. Yay you liked Anne! I’m so glad. Do you think you’re going to read the rest? I’ve read the first four, I think, and they are just as adorable as the first.

    Oh, Moby Dick made this list! Wow, you totally had a different experience with it than I did. I disliked most of it (though I do see its literary merit, and did enjoy certain parts). I guess that’s why classics are so cool – they make an impact on different people at different times in their lives. Perhaps I will reread it sometime in the distant future to see if it has a changed effect on me.

    And LOTR!! I will love those books forever. I’m planning to reread them this summer, along with some other fantasy favorites of mine (Harry Potter, Narnia, etc… all the greats).

    So many of the other books on your list are on my TBR and Classics Club list. I’m particularly looking forward to reading some Willa Cather and Jack London!

  4. Great list! I think you’re the first person I’ve come across who didn’t expect to like Anne of Green Gables, but I’m very happy to hear that Anne exceeded expectations! (One of my favorites from growing up.) Hopefully next year is just as good.

Leave a Reply

