October in Review

Smileys For BlogAs you know, last month, I departed considerably from my October TBR. But although I did not read any Halloweed-themed works, I am happy with the books I read. Without further ado, here’s what I read:

The Neverending Story by Michael Ende – ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

Baby by Patricia Machlachlan – ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ (A beautiful but heartrending book. If you have ever experienced the death of a child I warn you that this may be unbearably painful to read.)

Life Together by Dietrich Bonhoeffer – ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

Practice in Christianity by Anti-Climacus (pseudonym of Soren Kierkegaard) – ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

I Believe in the Holy Spirit, Vol II by Yves Congar- ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

Hard Times by Charles Dickens – ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

Note #1: If you are interested in reading my reactions to the Christian works I read, feel free to follow me on Goodreads. I do not review them on this blog but I do try to write a full review of each book on Goodreads.

Note #2: I sometimesย give 5 star reviews for books that I later decide should have received 4 stars. Therefore, smiley face ratings on this blog are not always consistent with my ratings on Goodreads. In general, if I give a book 4 or 5 stars/smiley faces, I highly recommend it. In contrast, I hardly ever change my mind about 2 or 3 star books.

November Plans

Death Comes for the Archbishop by Willa Cather (currently reading and loving)

La Nausรฉe by Jean-Paul Sartre

Dietrich Bonhoeffer: A Biography by Eberhard Bethge (It’s massive, so I doubt I will finish it in November).

Perelandra by C.S. Lewis (I should have read this one last month for the Dead Writer’s Society, but I didn’t.)

To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf

 

One thought on “October in Review

Leave a Reply

