September in Review

Smileys For BlogSeptember Reads

In September I read 6 books. Two of them were in French. I have plans to read at least one French work each month.

Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis (a reread)- 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

A Wizard of Earthsea by Ursula K. Le Guin (Book 1 of the Earthsea Cycle; I will review this book if I decide to continue with the series) – 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

L’Annonce Faite A Marie (The Annunciation to Mary) by Paul Claudel – 🙂 🙂 🙂

Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson (I will try to review this soon) – 🙂 🙂 🙂

Courrier Sud (Southern Mail) by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry – 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

The Neverending Story by Michael Ende (Fantastic! Review is forthcoming) – 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

 

Plans For October

Baby by Sarah McLachlan

The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson (Book 1 of the Mistborn trilogy; it will probably take me a couple of months to read.)

Jacob’s Room by Virginia Woolf

Some short stories by Edgar Allan Poe and Roald Dahl in honor of Halloween (which I actually don’t care much about. I just like creepy stories.)

Le Morte D’Arthur by Sir Thomas Mallory (for a read-along hosted by Jean @ Howling Frog Books. The read-along ends mid-December, so I have time).

Julie of the Wolves by Jean Craighead George (for the Newbery Medal Challenge)

Vol de Nuit (Night Flight) by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

Notice how my reading plans change from month to month even though I don’t normally read all (or sometimes any) of the books I have planned. Any TBR I post is extremely tentative. It’s definitely not binding. It’s merely a reminder that I either own or have borrowed books I have yet to read. I am also saying that there are certain books that I am currently excited to read.

7 thoughts on “September in Review

    • I just read the first couple chapters and it such a strange story. I love Medieval stories because the characters try to justify their insane behavior with equally crazy arguments. The read-along lasts until mid-December so I have time. Otherwise, I wouldn’t take it on. Even so, I may not meet the deadline. I just feel like Le Morte D’Arthur is the most comprehensive account of King Arthur available in English (or French since Chretien de Troyes hardly ever completed his poems).

  1. I have Never Ending Story on my shelf, and have plans to read it at some point myself! I’m really glad to see you’re giving Brandon Sanderson a try! 🙂
    I’ve always wanted to read all of the Newbery books, and I’m so excited to see that there’s a challenge online. I started reading all of them a few years ago, before I had this blog, but I plan to reread them, so I can write up reviews on them all. Getting a Newbery post might be my book post for today too.

    • I have a feeling I will like Sanderson as much as I like Tolkien. Thank you for the recommendation.
      I look forward to reading your post today. I don’t think I could post every day. That’s a great commitment. I avoided the Newbery winners like the plague as a child. I ended up reading the fantasy winners but otherwise I never read the winners. I exclusively read fantasy as a child. I now want to read the list because I’m sure I missed out on some great books. Sarah, Plain, and Tall blew me away!

Leave a Reply

