Literary Miscellanea: Roald Dahl on Writing

author_dahlI can’t believe I almost forgot to celebrate Roald Dahl’s birthday! As I have written on many occasions, Dahl is my all-time favorite author. In eighth grade, I decided to learn more about the man behind Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, The BFG, and Matilda, and that is how I came across the Roald Dahl website. In an interview with Todd McCormack, Roald Dahl described his writing process.

Here is a link to that interview.

If you scroll down to the middle of the page, you will see a giant “play” button. Different segments of the interview can be accessed by clicking on the “forward” and “back” arrows. Dahl was a very eccentric man; in his writing hut that resembled an airplane cockpit, he kept his old hip bone; the hip bone served as a  paper weight. More than any other author, Roald Dahl understood the mind of children and purposely wrote for them.

My personal motto comes from Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator: “A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men.”

A relevant quote

“The books transported her into new worlds and introduced her to amazing people who lived exciting lives. She went on olden-day sailing ships with Joseph Conrad. She went to Africa with Ernest Hemingway and to India with Rudyard Kipling. She travelled all over the world while sitting in her little room in an English village.”
― Roald Dahl (Matilda)

 

4 thoughts on “Literary Miscellanea: Roald Dahl on Writing

  1. Roald Dahl was one of the first authors I really remember searching out at the library. Once I read Matilda…that book felt like a life changer. Have you read Donald Sturrock’s biography of Dahl?? It’s incredible – one of the only biographies of a man that I’ve loved.

    • No I have not. I definitely should check that out. Matilda was a life changer for me too because the summer before high school I was so obsessed with Roald Dahl and his books that I decided to read all of the books Matilda read prior to first grade. That was my introduction to the classics. The reason why my blog is dedicated to the classics is because I fell in love with reading through the classics. Matilda inspired me to read Great Expectations, A Tale of Two Cities, Jane Eyre (which I initially thought was pronounced Jane Ire), and Animal Farm. Roald Dahl and Lewis Carroll also introduced me to poetry. I remember memorizing poetry from their books and reciting them before class to my 8th grade English teacher. I became obsessed. I know that Dahl was not the most fabulous person who ever lived but his sstories (both for children and adults) are brilliant.

      • I LOVE this! I think he would love knowing that he had such a big impact on kids. He wasn’t the greatest person in the world but I think that that made him a more interesting writer. He also had a knack of writing kids as kids and the adults around them as these horrible, selfish, hypocritical beasts and I think that that was largely the appeal of his writing. Kids could relate to the kids, find parts of themselves in them and the adults – what kid hasn’t thought “wait, how come I can’t have a cookie before dinner but you can?” He was kind of the best.

  2. Hi! I just wanted to let you know that I nominated you for the Liebster Award over at my blog. I’m not sure if you participate in blog awards or not, but I thought I would let you know anyway.

Leave a Reply

