July in Review

Smileys For BlogI read some spectacular books in July.

Books Read in July

The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith – πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

The Call of the Wild by Jack London – πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Crispin: The Cross of Lead by Avi – πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Moby-Dick; or, The Whale by Herman Melville – πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ (Hands down the greatest book I’ve read this year and definitely one of my favorite books of all time)

A Year Down Yonder by Richard Peck – πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie (Review is forthcoming) – πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Away Off Shore: Nantucket Island and Its People, 1602-1890 by Nathaniel Philbrick (Review is forthcoming) – πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

A Man For All Seasons by Robert Bolt (Review is forthcoming) – πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

Reading Plans For August

In the Heart of the Sea: The Tragedy of the Whaleship Essex by Nathaniel Philbrick

Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel (for Modern Detour)

Cinq Semaines En BallonΒ (Five Weeks in a Balloon) by Jules Verne

The Once and Future King by T.H. White

The Odyssey by Homer (a reread)

5 thoughts on “July in Review

  1. I re-read The Murder of Roger Ackroyd in May. I was concerned that I wouldn’t enjoy it as much the 2nd time but it was actually fun to see how cleverly written it is.
    The Once and Future King is one of my favorite classics! It’s very quirky, which I like. πŸ™‚

    • I need to reread every single Agatha Christie novel I’ve read so far. I want to learn her tricks. She is like a magician. The first time, it’s dazzling but I want to know how the magician performs his tricks. The narrative style of The Once and Future King is very unique – very conversational.

Leave a Reply

