Why I Support Libraries

The Columbus Metropolitan Library

The Columbus Metropolitan Library

I don’t usually participate in Top Ten Tuesday, but I enjoy reading other bloggers’ lists. Today’s challenge was to list the ” Ten Authors I Own the Most Books From”. This challenge convinced me to write the blog post I’ve wanted to write for quite some time. This is a post in which I explain why I support libraries.

There are many books in my family’s house, but most of them were bought at library book sales. Others were bought for high school and university (yes, my high school made me buy all of my school books). Many bloggers and booktubers almost exclusively buy books either online or at brick-and-mortar bookstores. There seems to be a general consensus that buying books is better than borrowing books. I, however, am a huge fan of libraries and the services they provide for people who wouldn’t have access to books otherwise.

I own considerably less books than you’d think based on my reading habits. My parents are not readers, but my mother took me and my siblings to the library every summer. During the summer, the library hosted library challenges for all age groups. I loved reading fantasy books and non-fiction books about insects. My mother wanted me to read non-fiction books from time-to-time so that I could learn something about the world. My mother had difficulty convincing me to check out a non-fiction book on something other than insects. I organized what I learned about insects in a personal “science journal” because at the age of 9 or 10 I decided that I would become an entomologist. The “science journal” was my personal project and one that I started thanks to the books I borrowed from my local library. My dream to be an entomologist is still alive and well as I will be attending graduate school in insect toxicology in the fall.

There are so many bloggers and booktubers who rave about bookstores, but there aren’t many who speak out in support of libraries. The services libraries provide for families are indispensable. Libraries made me the avid reader that I am today. Books are expensive, and my mother wasn’t interested in spending 10-20 dollars on a book.

Books will always be sold. It is estimated that over 200,000 books are published each year in the United States alone. But libraries are facing serious cuts; many librarians in my hometown have been laid off. When you support libraries, you support reading. So please consider visiting your local library. I still buy books from time to time, but libraries are a resource that I would like my children to have access to someday.

 

6 thoughts on “Why I Support Libraries

  1. I agree wholeheartedly! I buy books more now than I used to because I have space to store them, but I still visit the library at least once per week. There are plenty of books that I’ll only read once, so I get them from the library. It’s also a great resource for homeschoolers – my kids and I get non-fiction science and history books ALL the time.

    • Science and history books are aplenty in libraries. Even if I had a steady job, I don’t think I would ever have the money to buy too many science and history books. They’re expensive.

      Like you, if I have reread a book many times, I definitely will go out and buy it. But there are so many books that I read only once.

  2. I go to the library all the time–there’s a branch that’s a ten minute walk from my house, so I can put a few books on hold, and stroll down to get them every 5 to 7 days with no problem.

    If I love a book, I’ll buy it eventually. But for plenty of books, reading them once is enough.

  3. I agree! Libraries are an incredible resource for it has the potential to support all types of readers. I understand that people want to buy books and own the beautiful editions of books, but the magic of libraries is the variety of books that they hold. Whereas bookstores tend to present the new releases as well as some popular classics, in a library you can travel back in time and read books that were popular in the 80s or the 1880s.

Leave a Reply

