Literary Miscellanea: Italo Clavino Wrote For The New York Review of Books

Let me start by saying that I have never read anything by Italo Calvino. But I do know that he wrote a postmodern work called If on a winter’s night a traveler, which some bloggers recently read for a read-along. That being said, my blog is dedicated to reading the Classics, and Calvino wrote an article for The New York Review of Books in 1986, in defense of reading the Classics. The name of the article was “Why Read the Classics?” Today, Italo Calvino is considered a Classic author.

Here is the article: http://www.nybooks.com/articles/archives/1986/oct/09/why-read-the-classics/

If you are in the U.S., I hope you have a wonderful 4th of July weekend. If you are not in the U.S., have a great weekend just the same. I will be posting a review of The Fellowship of the Ring on Monday.

5 thoughts on “Literary Miscellanea: Italo Clavino Wrote For The New York Review of Books

  1. He has a book by that title as well, that has had good reviews. I tried to get through “If On A Winter’s Night A Traveler” but stalled part way in. I think I need to be in the proper frame of mind to read it. I’m going to try it again this summer and see how it goes!

    • I’m so sorry for the late response. I didn’t know that he wrote a whole book of essays on reading the Classics. I will definitely try to get my hands on a copy.

  2. As Cleo said above, he finally published a book of essays titled Why Read the Classics?, which I really liked. It’s a good starting point for Calvino, and a good read for any classics lover.

    • I will definitely read his essays before reading any of his novels. He had a lot of great things to say about the Classics in the essay that I did read.

Leave a Reply

