June in Review

I read 6 books in June. My favorite read was The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien. I’m quite a bit behind in Moby-Dick, but I am confident that I will finish it by the end of July. Below is the complete list of books I read in June:

Girl With a Pearl Earring by Tracy Chevalier (read for Modern Detour but not yet reviewed)- 🙂 🙂 🙂

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien – 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

The Maltese Falcon by Dashiell Hammett – 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

Saint Joan by George Bernard Shaw – 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

The View from Saturday by E.L. Konigsburg – 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

Frankenstein by Mary Shelley – 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

 

So, what will I be reading in July? I posted last week that my summer will be adventure-themed. Therefore, there will be some books from that list on my July TBR.

Moby-Dick by Herman Melville (to finish for the read-along hosted by Adam @ Roof Beam Reader)

The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith (a.k.a. J.K. Rowling)

Cinq Semaines En Ballon (Five Weeks in a Balloon) by Jules Verne

A Man for All Seasons by Robert Bolt

A Year Down Yonder by Richard Peck

The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien (to finish for the read-along hosted by Robert @ 101 Books)

The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway (for a July read-along hosted by Hamlette @ The Edge of the Precipice)

Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson

 

5 thoughts on “June in Review

  1. I am glad your June reading went so well! I only managed to finish one book. Although I’m in the middle of a couple.

    Frankenstein is a great one! That is a book certainly well-worth the re-read.

  2. I’ve heard great things said about The Old Man and the Sea.It is one book I’m looking forward to read,so I can’t wait to see what you will think of it!
    Five Weeks in a Balloon seems intriguing,although Jules Verne has never enticed me.I guess I must give him a chance one day!

    • Jules Verne wrote over 60 novels. Five Weeks in a Balloon is only the first.

      I’ve also read Around the World in 80 Days in the past. It is noteworthy that there is no hot air balloon in that novel. I say this because the film version has Phileas Fogg traveling around in a balloon with his servant Passepartout (they make him Spanish whereas he is French in the novel), but that is nowhere in the book.

      I want to read some science fiction but I don’t know any good contemporary sci-fi. I figure that the best place to start is with Verne since he is considered the father of sci fi. I have a feeling though that his 60+ stories will have similar story lines. We’ll see…I hope to read 2-3 of his stories this year.

      I just thought of this. You might find this interesting. One of Verne’s stories was adapted into a 1902 silent film by the filmmaker Georges Méliès. After it was filmed, it was hand colored. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7_R4borJ3bk

Leave a Reply

