Summer Reading Plan – I’m Going On An Adventure

This summer, I am going on an adventure. No, don’t worry! I am not going on a physical journey but on many literary journeys. Below is a list of books that I plan to read this summer. I may or may not get to them all, but that’s OK. I just want to go on an adventure, and I have chosen these books because the characters go on adventures.

Moby-Dick by Herman Melville (I’m currently reading this for a read-along)

The Canterbury Tales by Geoffrey Chaucer

Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe

Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson

A few Jules Verne novels (read in French, of course)

The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien

The Voyages of Doctor Dolittle by Hugh Lofting

Hitty, Her First Hundred Years by Rachel Field

The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway

The Call of the Wild by Jack London

Through the Looking Glass and Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Louis Carroll

Are there other books that I should have included in my list? 

13 thoughts on “Summer Reading Plan – I’m Going On An Adventure

    • I was considering Don Quixote, but I am currently reading Moby-Dick. I don’t know if I will have time to get to Don Quixote this summer. I need to get to Huck Finn sometime. Thanks for the suggestions.

  1. Love your list. A few more suggestions for your next summer’s adventures. The Wizard of Oz–which is so different than the movie it is mind blowing. More modern–The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making.

  2. What an interesting idea. I’m reading Canterbury Tales at the moment – I’m enjoying it butnyiunhave to read it in small chunks I think. Another “journey” book and the ultimate classic, would be Pilgrims Progress

Leave a Reply

