Top Ten Books I Read This Year

Top Ten Tuesday is an event hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. I have never participated in the event before, but I scrolled through my blog feeds this morning and noticed that a few bloggers were listing their top ten favorite books they read this year. I thought, “Why not? I’ll make my own list” So, here is my list:

1. Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery

2. Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf

3. Fathers and Sons by Ivan Turgenev, translated by George Reavy

4. The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

5. The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson

6. Sacred Violence by Jill Claster

7. Beowulf translated by Michael Alexander

8. A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

9. La Chanson de Roland (The Song of Roland) translated by Joseph Bédier

10. Le Grand Meaulnes (The Lost Estate) by Alain-Fournier

 
I am currently reading some fantastic works. I have a feeling they will wind up on my Top Ten list by the end of the year.

 

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Read This Year

      • That’s true. I have a lot of books but most of them are school textbooks. At some point, I need to reorganize my books. Keep the good ones and give away the others. But I guess I’m lazy and haven’t done that yet. Thankfully, the Kindle organizes my ebooks for me.

      • I’m most of the way through doing that myself–two and a half shelves to go. It’s probably going to take me a total of six months. I feel your pain–but my shelves already look so much better. I can actually see most of my books now!

  1. I love Mrs Dalloway so much – I hope you do, too. I’m planning on reading The Song of Roland at some point as well, not sure if I’ll get to it this summer, but I’ll look out for your thoughts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

