Armchair BEA 2014 – Introductory Post

ArmchairBEA LogoExample

Design by Amber of Shelf Notes

Until today, I didn’t know what BEA 2014 was. This morning, though, I noticed that many bloggers were writing introductory posts for an event called Armchair BEA. I found the website for the Book Expo America, and I learned more about the conference. After much consideration, I decided to sign up for Armchair BEA (the event for bloggers who can’t attend the expo). It seems like a great opportunity to meet new bloggers, and I’m all for meeting new bloggers. 🙂

For the introductory post, I have to answer 5 of 10 questions posted on the Armchair BEA homepage. My responses are below:

1. Please tell us a little about yourself. Who are you? How long have your been blogging? Why did you get into blogging? Where in the world are you blogging from?

My name is Fariba and this is my blog, Exploring Classics. I started learning French when I was 6 years old, but I realized at the end of last year that upon graduation from university, I would never again take a French course. One of the reasons I started book blogging was to continue reading and analyzing French works. I also enjoyed reading classics in general, but before I started blogging, I didn’t know of any classics books clubs. The Classics Club has introduced me to many bloggers who, like me, enjoy reading classics.

Exploring Classics hails from the United States and explores English and French literary classics. I occasionally read recently published works as well. I try to read all French classics in the original language. If the work is in old French (before 1350), I read a version that has been translated into modern French. I also enjoy reading children’s literature; I am currently reading my way through the Newbery Medal winning books.

4.  What was your favorite book read last year? What’s your favorite book so far this year?

Favorite book this year: Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery

Favorite book read last year: The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame

6. What is your favorite blogging resource?

My favorite blogging resource is the Classics Club blog. I love participating in the challenges. I also like Goodreads because I can rate books and join book clubs. 🙂

7. Spread the love by naming your favorite blogs/bloggers (doesn’t necessarily have to be book blogs/bloggers).

A few of my favorite bloggers:

Cleo @ Classical Carousel

Ruth @ A Great Book Study

Fleur @ Fleur in Her World

Brittany @ Quoth The Wordsmith

Fanda @ Fanda Classiclit

Jean @ Howling Frog Books

O @ Behold the Stars

8. Share your favorite book or reading related quote.

“A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men” – Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator

12 thoughts on “Armchair BEA 2014 – Introductory Post

  1. Wow. I’m impressed that you are reading classics in French. I’m currently reading a translated French novel. A French publisher that translates popular French novels into English has contacted me to do some reviews. I loved reading Madame Bovary in high school, but I read that in English as well.

  2. Welcome to Armchair BEA! I’m also starting the Classics Club challenge, and Le Grand Meaulnes is on my list. You have so many of my favorite books on your list, I hope you enjoy them.

    Visit my blog at Emerald City Book Review 

    • I reread Le Grand Meaulnes a few months ago. It is a fantastic coming-of-age story set in the beautiful French village of Sologne. I highly recommend it! Thank you for the visit. 🙂 I will definitely visit your blog.

  3. Anne of Green Gables was definitely my favorite book when I was a teen. I haven’t read much French literature at all– I wonder if there is anything for middle grade students. Will have to investigate for #weneeddiversebooks! Have fun with Armchair BEA.

    • If you are looking for French works for middle grade students of French I recommend the Le Petit Nicolas books written by René Goscinny and illustrated by Jean-Jacques Sempé. Thanks for the visit! 🙂

  4. Hi, Fariba! I’m so glad that you found Armchair BEA today. That’s impressive that you read classics in two languages.

    Have a great week with Armchair BEA!

  5. I am so impressed with your quest to continue your French skills by reading in French. I’ve committed to reading something in French for my Language Freak Summer Challenge, so hopefully I can continue even after it ends. I think I know enough French that if I just put some effort into reading it regularly, my skills would improve quite quickly. BTW, do you have a favourite book that you’ve read in French?

    I’m very honoured to be one of your favourite blogs! You’re on my blogroll too! It was fun to learn a little more about you from this post!

  6. So happy to know that your blog is devoted to English and French classics! Isn’t that lovely!

    Hope you have a fabulous Armchair BEA!

  7. I’m surprised to find my blog mentioned ehre. Thanks..
    I used to learn French years ago, and although I forget most of them now, I still think French is the most beautiful language.
    Good luck for you classics and French works exploration! 😉

Leave a Reply

