Classics Club Spin #6

I will be participating in the Classics Club Spin #6. Although all the books on this list are classics, not all of them are on my Classics Book List. I have decided to do this because I need to get through the books I have already bought before buying new works.

Books I Am Excited To Read

1. The Canterbury Tales – Geoffrey Chaucer
2. Scènes de la Vie de Bohème – Henri Murger
3. The War of the Worlds – H.G. Wells
4. The Wonderful Wizard of Oz – L. Frank Baum
5. The Black Arrow – Robert Louis Stevenson

Rereads

6. Le Père Goriot (Father Goriot) – Honoré de Balzac
7. Jean de Florette – Marcel Pagnol
8. Fear and Trembling – Søren Kierkegaard
9. Jane Eyre – Charlotte Brontë
10. Phèdre – Jean Racine

Books I Am Dreading (because of length or subject matter)

11. Eugénie Grandet – Honoré de Balzac
12. La Princesse de Clèves (The Princesse de Clèves) – Madame de Lafayette
13. Vingt Mile Lieues Sous Les Mers (20000 Leagues Under the Sea) – Jules Verne
14. Cyrano de Bergerac  – Edmond Rostand
15. Watership Down – Richard Adams

Others

16. Frankenstein – Mary Shelley
17. The Voyages of Dr. Dolittle – Hugh Lofting
18. The Scarlet Pimpernel – Baroness Emmuska Orczy
19. To The Lighthouse – Virginia Woolf
20. Treasure Island – Robert Louis Stevenson

5 thoughts on “Classics Club Spin #6

  1. Ah, there are a bunch on your list with which I’m not familiar. I’ll look them right up.

    Of the few on your list that I’ve read, I really enjoyed Watership Down, Jane Eyre and The Canterbury Tales.

    Good luck with your spin pick!

  2. I have The Cantebury Tales on my list and I’m both excited about it and dreading it. I don’t feel like I have the mental power to give to it at the moment. I just finished Frankenstein and To The Lighthouse is one of my favourites, but Woolf’s style takes a little getting used to.

    Have a great spin, Fariba!

Leave a Reply

