Liebster Award

I have been nominated for the Liebster Award by bookarino from Dawn of Books. I feel honored to be nominated for this award. There are some rules associated with it:

The Rules:

  1. Thank the blogger that nominated you and link back to their blog.
  2. Display the award somewhere on your blog.
  3. List 11 facts about yourself.
  4. Answer 11 questions chosen by the blogger that nominated you.
  5. Come up with 11 new questions to ask your nominees.
  6. Nominate 5-11 blogs that you think deserve the award and who have less than 1,000 followers. (You may nominate blogs that have already received the award, but you cannot renominate the blog that nominated you.)
  7. Go to their blog and inform them that they’ve been nominated.

11 Facts About Me:

  1. I am a Biology and French double major. Starting Fall 2014, I will be studying for my Masters in Entomology (Insect Toxicology) with the goal of teaching high school biology.
  2. I am bilingual. I love reading French literature and can read works in both modern and middle French.
  3. I was a competitive figure skater for most of my life.
  4. My favorite authors are Roald Dahl and Antoine de Saint-Exupéry. I believe that children’s books are not lower forms of literature than adult books. In fact, I believe that writing for children is more challenging and therefore more impressive than writing for adults.
  5. My favorite singers are Kate Bush and William Sheller. I also enjoy listening to classic and hard rock.
  6. In addition to reading literary classics, I study medieval French and English religious texts as a hobby. In particular, I am trying to understand the role religious orders played in the shaping of late Medieval Europe.
  7. I play in a hand bells choir.
  8. I have always wanted to be a children’s author (see above as to why).
  9. I am Catholic.
  10. I hate large crowds but love one-on-one conversations.
  11. My dream is to see moose in the wild. This is why I would like to visit Alaska or Yellowstone National Park.

11 Questions From bookarino:

1. What are you reading right now?

 I am currently reading Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf, Fathers and Sons by Ivan Turgenev, and have almost finished reading Sacred Violence by Jill Claster (a historical book about the Crusades).

2. How do you choose the books that you read?Based on recommendation/review/cover/etc?

I do tend to choose a book based on its cover. Sometimes this can land me into trouble. I do also read book reviews especially when deciding on a book that has been published in the last 10-20 years. I love primary sources, so when reading a history book, I make sure to read some of the primary sources listed in the bibliography.

3. How would you describe yourself as a reader?

I am definitely an eclectic reader, but I do not generally like romance novels and am vehemently opposed to erotic fiction.

4. What is the book that you recommend to people most often?

I recommend Le Petit Prince (The Little Prince) by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry the most often. However, I recently read Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery, and I loved it so much that I have been recommending this book a lot too.

5. Do you have any genres that you hate/dislike?

I do not like Jane Austen’s works because I find romance fiction boring. I hate erotic fiction.

6. If you were stranded on a deserted island, what 5 books would you need to survive?

To survive, I would need The Bible, St. Francis de Sales’ Introduction to the Devout Life, The Little Prince, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, and Robinson Crusoe (I am stranded on an island after all. What is life without a bit of humor?)

7. What was the last translated book that you read?

I am currently reading Fathers and Sons by Ivan Turgenev in English. It was translated from Russian.

8. Do you have a specific place where you read?

I read on my bed or at the nearest coffee shop.

9. What would you be doing if you weren’t reading?

I would be listening to music (see above for my musical tastes).

10. Which book (books) has influenced you the most?

The Bible and Catholic religious writings have definitely influenced me the most. But I have also been influenced by the pseudonymous works and upbuilding discourses of Søren Kierkegaard. I am particularly thinking of Works of Love, Purity of Heart is to Will One Thing, The Sickness Unto Death, and Fear and Trembling. I like thinking about my own existence but I don’t call myself an existentialist lest people think I ascribe to Jean Paul’s philosophy.

11. Do you sometimes fake that you’ve read a book that you actually haven’t?

I used to do that when I was a child. I don’t anymore.

11 Questions to Nominees:

  1. What are your favorite and least favorite literary genres?
  2. What are you currently reading?
  3. What month-long classics book challenges would you be interested in doing this year?
  4. What do you do when you are not reading?
  5. If you were stranded on a desert island, what 5 books would you need?
  6. What sort of music do you listen to?
  7. City or country, beach or mountains?
  8. Name 5 people (dead or alive) you would like to have a round table discussion with?
  9. What is your favorite book that has been published in the past 10-20 years?
  10. If you could learn another language what language would you choose to learn?
  11. You are on vacation in a different country, what do you make sure to fit into your itinerary?
2 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. Great answers! Oh dear, I definitely should have also taken Robinson Crusoe to a deserted island, how did I forget that? I love Le Petit Prince, I think I should read it again. ASAP.

  2. I love Kate Bush 🙂 Nice to meet a fellow fan!

    Mrs Dalloway is, in my opinion, one of the best novels Woolf has written. I hope you’re enjoying it. As for Jane Austen – I’m inclined to agree, though within the past month or so I’m starting to see her in a new light. Thinking I might possibly re-read her novels and test my new (tentative) appreciation!

Leave a Reply

