February in Review

I am a Biology and French double major and visited a graduate school in February. This is my excuse for having read only two books in the past month. I don’t feel too bad though because Ivanhoe was a long novel.

Here are the books I read in February:

Ivanhoe by Sir Walter Scott – 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

The Gospel and the Catholic Church by Michael Ramsey  – 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

Here is a list of the books I plan to read in March:

Candide by Voltaire – I am leading a read-along of this work.

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf

Sacred Violence by Jill N. Claster

The Great Transformation by Karen Armstrong – doubt I will get to this book in March

7 thoughts on “February in Review

  1. I recently purchased a copy of Mrs. Dalloway despite the fact that the popular opinion seems to be against it. I think I’ll also try to read it in March, so I’m looking forward to hearing your thoughts on it!

  2. I really enjoyed Mrs. Dalloway. You have to just go with Woolf’s stream-of-consciousness style. I hope to re-read it sometime to find themes that I missed the first time.

    I’ll be interested in what you think about the Karen Armstrong book. I’ve been eyeing her books for awhile but have wondered if they will be worth the time and effort.

    It’s wise of you to include a children’s classic; they are always good and help keep reading enjoyable!

    • I believe that children’s literature is just as legitimate as adult literature. In fact, I believe that it is harder to write for children than it is to write for adults because a children’s author cannot add sexual scenes or extreme violence to spice up his/her novel. This is why I am also doing the Newbery Medal Challenge.

      I have mixed feelings about Karen Armstrong’s works. She writes from an ex-believer’s perspective, but I felt that The Great Transformation was pretty interesting when I first read it in high school. Armstrong’s personal belief is that God doesn’t actually exist but because the belief in God has had great social and political consequences in the world, religious studies should be taken seriously. However, The Great Transformation interested me because it dealt with comparative religion. I didn’t completely agree with Armstrong the first time I read the book but it was interesting enough that I want to reread it.

Leave a Reply

