Reading Candide – March Event

Hello everyone, just a reminder that I will be hosting a Candide read-along in March. Details are below:

The event will be from March 1-31.

I will be reading the work in the original language, but all posts will be in English. Here is the posting schedule:

Monday, March 10 : chapters 1-8

Monday, March 17: chapters 9-16

Monday, March 24: chapters 17-24

Monday, March 31: chapters 25-30 (last post)

After I post about a series of chapters, you have a whole week to comment on those chapters.

Please spread the word. I look forward to our discussions.

4 thoughts on “Reading Candide – March Event

  1. So you are the one hosting the read-a-long. Cleo (@ Classical Carousel) has asked me if I was interested in participating. I was looking at translations, and I am not sure which is best. Do you have any suggestions?

    • Yes. I am. To be honest, I’ve only ever read Candide in French. There is a 1.35 dollar Dover Classics Edition available on Amazon. All other editions are over 10 dollars. The Norton Critical Edition translated by Robert Adams is 14 dollars but it seems as if the translation is great. I’m sorry I can’t be of more help. I hope you will be able to join us in the read-along in March.

Leave a Reply

