Classics Spin 2014 Book List

The Classics Club is having an event called The Classics Spin. The event will run from February 10 to April 2. Basically, I have to choose 5 books that I am dreading to read, 5 that I can’t wait to read, 5 that I feel neutral about, and 5 others of my choice. I am posting the list today, but people who want to participate in this event have until next Monday, February 10 to post their book list. On February 10, I will be assigned a number from 1-20, and I must read the corresponding book by April 2. So here is my list:

Books I Am Dreading to Read

1.       The Old Man and the Sea – Ernest Hemingway

2.       Eugénie Grandet – Honoré de Balzac

3.       Le Rouge et le Noir (The Red and the Black) – Stendhal

4.       Bonjour Tristesse – Françoise Sagan

5.       Madame Bovary – Gustave Flaubert

 

Books I Can’t Wait to Read

6.      Frankenstein – Mary Shelley

7.      Peter Pan – J.M. Barrie

8.     Ivanhoe – Sir Walter Scott

9.      Cyrano de Bergerac – Edmond Rostand

10.  De la Terre à la Lune (From the Earth to the Moon) – Jules Verne

 

Books I Feel Neutral About

11.       The Secret Garden – Frances Hodgson Burnett

12.       Robinson Crusoe – Daniel Defoe

13.       Watership Down – Richard Adams

14.       Kim – Rudyard Kipling

15.       Le Père Goriot – Honoré de Balzac

 

Free Choices

16.       A Tale of Two Cities – Charles Dickens

17.       The Black Arrow – Robert Louis Stevenson

18.       1984 – George Orwell

19.       The Prince and the Pauper – Mark Twain

20.       Mrs. Dalloway – Virginia Woolf

5 thoughts on “Classics Spin 2014 Book List

Leave a Reply

