January in Review

I started my blog shortly before the New Year, and it has been a blast. I have 15 WordPress and Bloglovin’ followers! While this may not seem like a lot of followers, I am very thankful to have these followers. Many of them have their own blogs, which I enjoy reading. Blogging tends to have a reputation for being superficial, but in the last month, I have discovered many bloggers who are not only great writers but maintain very intellectually stimulating blogs.

At the end of each month I will have a post like this one summarizing the texts that I have read. I will be using a smiley face rating system, where 5 smileys means that I absolutely loved the work and one means that I hated it.

So, without further ado, here is what I read:

A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens: πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

The Old Curiosity Shop by Charles Dickens: πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame: πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Esio Trot by Roald Dahl: πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

The Giraffe and the Pelly and Me by Roald Dahl: πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

The Minpins by Roald Dahl: πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Le Grand Meaulnes by Alain Fournier: πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson:Β Β πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Sarah, Plain and Tall by Patricia McLachlan: πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

The New Adventures of Sinbad the Sailor by Salim Bachi: πŸ™‚

Thomas’ version of Tristan et Yseut : πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “January in Review

    • I haven’t yet written a review for Tristan et Yseut, but I will shortly. There were some strange characters in the tale. In some ways, this story was very much like other medieval courtly love poems. There was a dwarf, illicit relationships, and strange notions of sacrifice. Here is an example of sacrifice in the text: Tristan marries another woman named Yseut because she is beautiful like the queen and has the same name. However, he refuses to sleep with his wife because he feels like he has betrayed the queen. Therefore, he decides to make a sacrifice for the queen by sleeping next to his wife without having relations with her. He figures, this will be difficult for him to do, and therefore, will be a sacrifice.

      There were a lot of abrupt breaks and scene changes throughout. The inconsistencies in the tale may have been due to holes in the manuscript (parts of the original story have been lost). As far as courtly love poems are concerned, I prefer Chretien de Troy’s Le Chevalier de la Charette (The Knight and the Cart). I couldn’t sympathize with Yseut like I could for Guinevere. In the Knight and the Cart, Guinevere challenges the courtly love system. She is powerful.

      • I don’t know if I read the same version as you, but the English version I read was a patchwork of different stories put together and that seemed cohesive to the author. I enjoyed it since so many ideas we have about romantic love originate from the story, but I didn’t always sympathize with the characters. I look forward to your review.

Leave a Reply

